Texas DUI Lawyer – Texas DUI Penalties

If you are arrested in Texas for DUI, you need to contact a Texas DUI Lawyer ASAP. In Texas, DUI is taken very seriously but a conviction is not a foregone conclusion if you have the right lawyer who understands Texas DUI law and the defenses that may be obtainable to you. It also helps if you too understand the DUI penalties in Texas to better discuss your case with your attorney.

DUI, 1st Offense: Class B Misdemeanor in Texas

• Fine – Up to $2,000.

• Jail – Not less than 72 hours nor more than six (6) months.

• Community Service – Not less than 24 hours nor more than 100 hours.

If probation is granted in lieu of jail, then additional conditions may apply.

• Drug/Alcohol Evaluation

• Attend and complete an approved DUI Education class within 180 days from the date of conviction

• Attend and complete a Victim Impact Panel.

• Work faithfully at appropriate employment, commit no other crimes, keep at the same residence and employment unless notification is given to the community supervision officer, report monthly to the supervision office, and pay all fines and costs in a timely manner.

• Pay a monthly supervisory fee. Perform a stated hours of community or volunteer service.

Additional Conditions of Probation that may be ordered include installation of an ignition interlock device, outpatient alcohol treatment, no consumption of alcohol, jail confinement, and victim restitution.

DUI, Second Offense: Class A Misdemeanor Special Condition for Jail Release on Bond:

• Fine – Up to $4,000.00.

• Jail – Not less than 72 hours nor more than one (1) year.

• Community Service – Not less than 80 hours nor more than 200 hours.

• thorough lung air device -Typically thorough lung devices are required for all DUI second offenders during probation, and may be required upon being charged with this offense but prior to conviction.

• Suspension of license – Not less than 180 days or more than two (2) years.

DUI, Third Offense (or greater): Third degree FELONY

• Fine – Up to $10,000.00.

• Jail – Penitentiary confinement for not less than 2 years nor more than ten (10) years.

• thorough lung air device – thorough lung air devices are generally ordered on all persons convicted of three or more DUI’s both as conditions of bond and as conditions of any occupational or provisional licenses that may be awarded after conviction.

• Community Service – Not less than 160 hours nor more than 600 hours.

• Suspension of license – Not less than 180 days or more than two (2) years.

Texas is serious about enforcement of DUI laws and the punishments can be harsh and life changing. If you are charged with a DUI in Texas you need a good Texas DUI lawyer on your side.

Leave a Reply